Hacking with Swift

downloadA few weeks ago I started to look into Swift, the (rather) new programming language of Apple to build OS X and iOS apps. I decided to look into something different from building (enterprise) systems with Java (although there is still lots to learn there about Java, the different frameworks and so on). Being using MacBooks and Apple’s gadgets for many years I thought this would be fun to do.
So then comes the question ‘where do I start?’. I looked into Apple’s documentation and some of the resources there. I am sure everything to know about the language is there but it isn’t a great or fun way to learn it. Luckily I ran into this site: https://www.hackingwithswift.com/ of Paul Hudson. I think this site is awesome and going through the hands-on tutorials is really a great way to learn more about Swift and its capabilities. Within a few sessions I was already creating my own game on my IPad! Perhaps not the most spectacular game but for a start it was fun to do (and I am finally able to show the result of my work to my 7 year old son and getting an enthusiastic response🙂 ).

About Pascal Alma

Pascal is a senior software developer and architect. Pascal has been designing and building applications since 2001. He is particularly interested in Open Source toolstack (Mule, Spring Framework, JBoss) and technologies like Web Services, SOA and Cloud technologies. Lately he is having great fun by building iOS apps with Swift. Specialties: JEE AWS XML/XSD/XSLT Web Services/SOA Mule ESB/ WSO2 ESB Maven Cloud Technology Swift/ iOS
This entry was posted in Swift and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hacking with Swift

  1. Pingback: The first steps with Swift | The Pragmatic Integrator

Comments are closed.