Using AWS Java SDK with AWS DynamoDB

In this post I show the steps I took to have a look at AWS DynamoDB by using the JAVA SDK with IntelliJ IDEA. I know it might be easier to go with the Eclipse SDK but since I am loving my IntelliJ IDEA I wanted to see how far I could get with it.
The first step is to get the SDK. I took the sources from the GIT here.

I opened the (Maven) project in IntelliJ and unfortunately saw that my build was failing. I had to disable the GPG signing and increase the Heap size used by Maven by adding a few arguments to the Maven command:
Screen Shot 2013-06-18 at 13.23.16
With these arguments in place the build succeeded.

Next step I created a new Maven project and added the class I found here to create and fill a few tables that are used for several demonstrating purposes as described in the DynamoDB Developers Guide.
After making some small changes to the script it ran successfully. I had to change the loading of the properties file so it could actually find the supplied file. The other change was setting the region of the client to ‘EU-WEST’ like this:


After running the class you can view the resulting tables in the DynamoDB Management Console:
Screen Shot 2013-06-19 at 14.54.49

When the tables and their content are created we can fire some queries. There are some sample queries in Java for this specific dataset here. I created another class with this code and executed it. Please don’t forget the adjust the region if you created your tables in another region then the default one (US_EAST).
The result of running the class should be:

Printing item after retrieving it....
ISBN S=[111-1111111111]
Id N=[101]
Authors SS=[[Author1]]
Title S=[Book 101 Title]
ReplyDateTime S=[2013-06-05T14:45:19.169Z]
Message S=[DynamoDB Thread 1 Reply 2 text]
PostedBy S=[User B]

Of course this only scratched the surface of all the stuff dynamoDB has to offer but it is a start. From here you can prcoeed with all the other interesting things.

About Pascal Alma

Pascal is a senior software developer and architect. Pascal has been designing and building applications since 2001. He is particularly interested in Open Source toolstack (Mule, Spring Framework, JBoss) and technologies like Web Services, SOA and Cloud technologies. Lately he is having great fun by building iOS apps with Swift. Specialties: JEE AWS XML/XSD/XSLT Web Services/SOA Mule ESB/ WSO2 ESB Maven Cloud Technology Swift/ iOS
This entry was posted in AWS, IntelliJ IDEA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Using AWS Java SDK with AWS DynamoDB

Comments are closed.