Making read-only schema visible in SqlDeveloper

Every now and then I need some tool to perform queries on a Oracle Database. If I need it really occasionally on a project I just use the SQL view in Netbeans. In case I need a more mature tool I normally download the freely available SqlDeveloper from Oracle. In my last project I got a Oracle user with read only rights on the database. This way I could have a peek in the database without the risk of changing (and breaking) things. However after I logged in with this account I didn’t see any table:

Luckily quite soon I was told it is standard behaviour in SqlDeveloper. The workaround is to go select the user in the browser and within that node you can see all tables available:

About Pascal Alma

Pascal is a senior software developer and architect. Pascal has been designing and building applications since 2001. He is particularly interested in Open Source toolstack (Mule, Spring Framework, JBoss) and technologies like Web Services, SOA and Cloud technologies. Lately he is having great fun by building iOS apps with Swift. Specialties: JEE AWS XML/XSD/XSLT Web Services/SOA Mule ESB/ WSO2 ESB Maven Cloud Technology Swift/ iOS
This entry was posted in Technical and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.