Improving my BPMN skills

As posted before I am working as a business analist at my current assignment. I am using BPMN to create diagrams to describe the business processes at my client’s company. Because I wasn’t familiair with BPMN, I looked around to find the best way to master this technique. Besides a lot of basic articles I ran into two interesting sites, both have to do with Bruce Silver.
First there is this site at which you can register for his BPMN course in different formats.
Besides the training of Bruce I also found these articles he wrote. This will give you a basic idea about the theory you can expect in the training, but of course you are missing the hands-on exercises and other stuff that’s in the training.
I haven’t finished the training yet but until now (I am half way) I like it very much and I have learned much more then I would by just reading books (it’s also more expensive then a few books so that’s fair :-)).
The final thing I want to mention about Bruce is his blog with interesting posts about BPMN. Now that is enough advertisement for Bruce.
Of course, mastering BPMN alone will not make you a good business analyst. On the other hand, making sure your BPMN diagrams don’t violate the BPMN rules, won’t make you a worse business analyst neither!

About Pascal Alma

Pascal is a senior software developer and architect. Pascal has been designing and building applications since 2001. He is particularly interested in Open Source toolstack (Mule, Spring Framework, JBoss) and technologies like Web Services, SOA and Cloud technologies. Lately he is having great fun by building iOS apps with Swift. Specialties: JEE AWS XML/XSD/XSLT Web Services/SOA Mule ESB/ WSO2 ESB Maven Cloud Technology Swift/ iOS
This entry was posted in BPMN and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Improving my BPMN skills

  1. Alan Crean says:

    Mate – have a look at the 4 min video on – it is all BPMN as you will see

Comments are closed.